voltage at field terminal of generator?

Have a Lucas question?

voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby jbjaz » Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:42 am

Can someone tell me the proper range of field terminal voltage? Would a fault ignition switch cause low voltage here?

Thanks,
Jim
User avatar
jbjaz
Pit Crew
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:45 pm

Re: voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby hoggie » Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:47 am

Take a look at section N.5 of the attached link. pg 4 of the pdf, pg 208 of the document.
It explains a method to check the generator output.

http://www.spridget-tech.com/service_ma ... tion-N.pdf

Mike
User avatar
hoggie
1098cc
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby jbjaz » Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:59 am

Thanks Mike,

I did this and the Dynamo looks OK. But, when hooked up to the control box, I get only 3 volts or so. It looks to me like the ignition switch isn't passing enough voltage to the control box. Is this possible or should I change out the control box? Could I jumper 12V to the control box input to test?

Thanks,
Jim
User avatar
jbjaz
Pit Crew
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:45 pm

Re: voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby jbjaz » Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:53 pm

OK,

Ignition switch was bad. Dismantled and fixed that. Still no voltage at the field terminal.

Jumped 12V to the field terminal and the charging circuit works now. Does this mean a bad control box?

Thanks,
Jim
User avatar
jbjaz
Pit Crew
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:45 pm

Re: voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby hoggie » Sun Feb 08, 2009 2:35 am

Sounds like maybe a dirty contact or cut off relay out of adjustment.
Try cleaning the control box contacts with some emery paper.
If that doesn't fix the problem, take a look at the control box adjustments for the cut off relay.
The cut off relay limits the output of the generator.
Here is the control box adjustments. Section N.7
http://www.spridget-tech.com/service_ma ... tion-N.pdf

Mike
User avatar
hoggie
1098cc
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby Bugzy59 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:14 am

I went through this.
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3061

I sprayed the control box with wd40. Cleaned the points and generally tweeked the mechanics. I bought a new control box and the old one started working and has worked since then.

I am a big fan of my Ammeter which is not original. It has helped me sort out some minor wiring problems over the past. It is there to let me of the impending electrical problem before it arrives.
User avatar
Bugzy59
1275cc
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:44 pm
Location: Maryland

Re: voltage at field terminal of generator?

Postby jbjaz » Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:33 pm

Great help guys!

Traced it to bad contacts on the regulator solonoid. Some 400 grit paper and all is well.

Best,
Jim
User avatar
jbjaz
Pit Crew
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 4:45 pm


Return to Electrical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron